He Makes Everything Beautiful in His Time

master plan

He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the hearts of men; yet they cannot fathom what God has done from beginning to end. ~Ecclesiastes 3:11 NIV

About this time last year my family and I were settling into our new home. It was a time a transition for us. The above verse resonated with me as I unpacked boxes and gradually found just the right places for all our stuff.

Something peaceful filled my heart knowing that God makes everything beautiful in His time.

His time.

This time last year, there were moments when I wanted  speed some things up. There were house projects to be done. I wanted to fast forward and feel settled in—but it takes time to transform a house into a home.

It takes time.

We still have a growing list of house projects. We probably always will, but our place feels like home now.

Today, the above verse in Ecclesiastes came to mind again but for different reasons. The past few weeks have been filled with a few changes—good changes, but changes that have also stretched me outside of my comfort zone and filled my calendar with lots to do.

Once again, that peaceful reminder that God makes everything beautiful in His time, is a comfort to my soul.

The truth is, God has a master plan. He has a plan for each of our lives. And the greatest thing we can ever do is yield to His perfect plan and allow it to unfold in His timing. When we do, we can rest assured that He who began a good work in us will carry out until the day of completion.

He makes everything beautiful in His time.

Just like it takes time to transform a house into a home, it takes time for God to transform us into His likeness. It takes time for His plans to unfold. 

If we focus too heavily on trying to fast forward to the  “settled in” moments, we loose sight of the beauty and importance of this moment. There is a purpose for the uncomfortable moments, for the joyful moments, for the confusing moments, and for the laughter-filled moments. Our unchanging God intertwines it all, and makes everything beautiful in His time.

These flowers on my back deck blossomed into something beautiful over time this Summer.

These flowers on my back deck blossomed into something beautiful over time this Summer.


_____
hannah

 

 

 

(C) 2014 Pocketful of Motherhood, All rights reserved

9 thoughts on “He Makes Everything Beautiful in His Time

  1. “Settled In” Moments!! That is always the goal, isn’t it? I have felt that way about so many things in my adult life. I know I need to relax and enjoy all the present moments but it’s so hard. Thank you for the encouragement. XO Beautiful post.

    • Thanks Valerie! I know I gravitate towards the “settled in” moments, probably because they appear to be the more comfortable or predictable moments. God’s been teaching me a lot lately about embracing the present moment and allowing Him to unfold things in His timing—sometimes I want to jump ahead 5 steps, but I know each step is important in preparing me for what’s next. ❤

  2. Beautiful message and beautiful flowers! We have been in our house for a year now as of this month and I felt overwhelmed to “settle in” a.s.a.p., too. That year later, we are still “settling in” but the house feels so much more like our home now!

    Wanting to fast-forward our lives has been a struggle for me, especially as we wait for more children. I am praying for contentment and just enjoying life as it is. As you said, it takes time for God’s plans to unfold!

    Amy @ http://www.livinglifetruth.com/

    • Thanks Amy! I can relate so much to everything that you said. We moved in August so it sounds like we both moved into our houses right around the same time. We continue to wait for more children too (and even though that is hard), God’s plans are wonderful and will unfold in His perfect timing!

  3. Pingback: Ten Thoughts *Wednesday* | Atlanta Mom of Three

  4. It seems in our culture and particularly this generation, we want things now. What a great reminder it is not always on our time schedule. 🙂

Comments are closed.