Servanthood in Motherhood

flower-8539_640Motherhood. I breath it in and out every single day.

My sweet boy has forever changed my life and deepened my perspective about the things that matter most. I adore him with every ounce of life in me.

Motherhood: A journey that has challenged me in new ways.

Sleepless nights, less time for things like exercise, interesting grocery shopping adventures, never-ending laundry piles, and a need to warm up my morning coffee about five times before actually finishing the last sip.

Motherhood: A journey that fills my heart with indescribable joy.

Cuddling with the sweetest little boy several times a day, hearing the cutest little phrases come out of the cutest little 3-year old mouth, witnessing the proud look on my little one’s face when he learns something new, and experiencing life through the eyes of a child.

Motherhood has the power to refine us so that something beautiful deep within us can be reveled.

motherhood...

Changing dirty diapers, cleaning up food-painted walls, being spit up on 10 times a day, and surviving off of little sleep might not seem like glamorous work. But when we give of ourselves for the sake of our children, we are doing some of the most important work that we will ever do—work that has the power to develop within us a selfless spirit. And while no one might notice our acts of service, we can rest assured that there is One who always does.

In a self-serving world it can be difficult to keep a clear perspective as mamas—but a servant heart is greatly valued in the Eyes of our Maker. And if He values it, we should too.

Every mama needs a guilt-free break ever so often. Time to re-charge, unwind, re-focus, and do something non-mommyish. Yet we’re always on mama duty. We’re always thinking about our kids and talking about them when we are away from them. We’re always moms.

Motherhood has the power to bring joy to the depths of our souls in a way that nothing else in this world can.

Our children have a way of captivating our hearts and filling us with joy. Even though our days might be inter-weaved with challenges, the gift of motherhood echos around us. And it doesn’t take much—a hug or kiss from our child, a peaceful stroll around the block together, hearing an unprompted I love you, enjoying an ice cream date, and the list could go on and on…

There’s something joyful about knowing that our kiss has a magical way to heal ouchies, that our chest is a comforting place for our little ones to rest their heads, and that our voice of assurance is a soothing sound to our children.

Motherhood may be messy sometimes, but there is joy around every corner. Something to be relished and remembered. Something to be learned. Something to be embraced. And something to remind us that we are daughters of  God—a God who desires to bring us closer to Him through our multifaceted stroller-pushing, diaper-changing journeys.

After all, HE knows a little something about servanthood. He knows what it means to be selfless in the purest form.

For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many. ~Mark 10:45 (NIV)

God sent His one and only Son to earth for us. Jesus, fully man and fully God, served us with His very last breath as He hung on the Cross and died for our sins. The sinless, spotless Lamb took our place so that we can experience the beauty of having a relationship with Him in this moment and into eternity.

Let us remember His example as we face and embrace motherhood. While we might get to see some of the fruit of our work in this life, we will probably see so much more of it when we meet our selfless Savior face to face in Eternity.

Selfless love has a way of coming full circle. The more we give away, the more our hearts overflow with joy. There is an eternal purpose behind every act of love. 

Serve wholeheartedly, as if you were serving the Lord, not people. ~Ephesians 6:7 (NLT)

_____

hannah

*Top Photo Credit

(C) 2014 Pocketful of Motherhood, All Rights Reserved.

 

 

23 thoughts on “Servanthood in Motherhood

  1. Beautiful post, Hannah! Mothers can struggle with the value of their tasks and role. It’s good to be reminded that our true worth is found in Christ and that He notices every task, no matter how small. I also had to smile at the line about heating up your coffee 5 times … that’s me too! I’m not sure anymore what coffee is really supposed to taste like. 🙂

    • Thanks so much! I am grateful that our identity is found in Christ and that He cares about all the we do as moms. When I get discouraged I find comfort in that truth. I’m also glad to hear that I’m not alone in the coffee thing! 🙂 Many Blessings, Hannah

    • Thank you friend! The Lord has been speaking to me about this topic a lot this month. When I was having some quiet time at the beginning of this month I opened to the Bible verse that talks about how Jesus came to serve and not to be served. Then I got out my prayer journal and I opened to the section I have marked for my son. I’ve been doing a prayer series this year and one thing I do as a part of it is pray a different theme every month for my son. I looked at July’s theme and saw that it was a “servants heart.” No coincidence. So as I pray that God will develop a servant’s heart in my little boy, it’s something God’s working on in me as well. I love how God speaks to us!

  2. Well said. I believe motherhood is a gift, a privilege, a high calling. …and it doesn’t end when our kids “grow up” as I used to think when I was much younger and the kids needed 24/7 care… I find joy in the fact that my married children still seek counsel, comfort, and wisdom from their Mom & Dad. The lessons I’ve learned about God through the joys & challenges of parenting… I don’t think I could’ve learned any other way. Some are hard lessons to learn but I’m so thankful that God is a tender-hearted Father who never gives up, no matter how much time I take to learn those lessons. His patience and love expressed to me are indescribable.

    • Thank you so much Daisy! You always have great wisdom to share. In the short time that I have been a mom I have learned that motherhood is a very transforming process. I look forward to experiencing the continuing seasons of motherhood. And I too am thankful that we have a patient Heavenly Father who shows us grace as we learn.

Comments are closed.