A Rainbow Promise

rainbow genesis

A colorful rainbow in the sky always brings a peaceful smile to my face. Not only is it a beautiful sight to see, it is also a comforting reminder of God’s faithfulness.

A rainbow appeared to Noah after the great flood which wiped out the entire earth and all of creation, other than what God instructed Noah to take on the Ark. A rainbow was painted in the sky as a symbol of God’s Covenant between Him and Noah (and creation)—God promised that He would never again destroy the earth and all living creatures by floodwater.

What a breathtaking rainbow that must have been.

Yesterday as my family and I were finishing up eating dinner we heard a single burst of thunder in the background. My son, being the curious child that he is, headed toward that back door to see what was going on outside. It didn’t appear to be stormy so we headed outside and this is what I first saw…

rainbow1

As I looked a little closer more parts of the rainbow came into view and I saw the arc. I couldn’t see it as clearly at first because the rainbow was partially hidden behind the clouds.

rainbow2

Sometimes when the clouds of life roll in we develop a blurry view of God’s Promises. We might doubt His faithfulness or His Love. We might doubt that He is really even there. But behind the clouds, His Promises live—they are unshakable, unchanging, and unending.

When I see a rainbow glimmering  in the sky I can’t help but feel a gentle joy because it reminds me that…

God is faithful to every single promise He has made. I am reminded that He is always with us. I am reminded of His Love for all of creation. And I am reminded that He will help us through the storms of life when we call on His Name. He is always true to His Word.

Maybe you are presently walking through a stormy season where clouds blur your vision. Or maybe your path is presently filled with sunshiny rays. Wherever you might find yourself, the promise of the rainbow can offer the comfort and hope of something beautiful ahead.

It did for me yesterday. And I think God knew my little family and I needed that reminder—or at least I did. After we admired the view and I snapped a few pictures we headed inside. A minute or so later I looked out the kitchen window and the rainbow had faded away.

But the promise of it lives on.

The grass withers and the flowers fade, but the word of our God stands forever. ~Isaiah 40:8 (NLT)

_____

hannah

 

(C) 2014 Pocketful of Motherhood, All Rights Reserved.

12 thoughts on “A Rainbow Promise

  1. Beautiful. This reminded me of a song I once heard a traveling minister sing. The words: “I placed my rainbow in the sky just for you. So that everyone of you would know: I will keep My words just for you.” This song brought me through so many difficult times of my life. I would cling to this promise, and just like He promised, God always kept His word.

    • Beautiful Sasha, thank you for sharing this! I am grateful we have a God Who is faithful to keeping every single promise. Without that the gloomy days would just be gloomy…but with that hopes shines even on the stormiest of days.

  2. What a beautiful reminder. I needed this today, a reminder that God is faithful even with the trials seem overwhelming. I actually saw a rainbow on our drive home from a long trip two days ago too.

    • Thank you and I’m glad this was encouraging to you. God has a way of whispering to us just what we need to hear (or see) when we need it most. How special that you saw a rainbow a few days ago too. I don’t see them often, but when I do I take notice!

  3. Beautiful. I’ve always loved them and had a calming feeling with them. My husband always says..yes it’s a rainbow do you have to point it out? yes yes i do and now I can tell him why. Ha ha. Such a beautiful way to look at them and to have that. God is so amazing and he’s in everything. Sometimes it’s easy to forget that.

    • Thanks Heather! Seems like the older I get the more I feel God’s presence and hand in things out in nature…whether it be a rainbow, pretty clouds in the sky, wildflowers on a trail…there’s something very special about the God-made things because they reveal a part of Himself to us. God is everywhere and so is His Beauty and Love.

  4. Great reminders, Hannah! Thank you. I love how being in nature restores me and puts it all in perspective. Love you!

Comments are closed.