Tex-Mex Lettuce Tacos

tex mex lettuce tacos displayLettuce wraps are light and refreshing. They are a tasty lower-carb option when you need a little break from the heaviness of breads and starchy foods. These lettuce “tacos” as I like to call them, are just like a taco but they are wrapped in lettuce rather than in a tortilla. The chicken filling is made in the slower cooker and the toppings take just a few minutes to prepare.

chickenI’m a big fan of my Crock-Pot because I can stick all of the ingredients in one pot, put on the lid and walk away. As a mom with a busy toddler, I greatly appreciate the invention of this saving machine!! Salsa is the main ingredient in this chicken and I recommend using more of a runny salsa over a thick salsa. Something more runny adds extra liquid and hydrates the chicken better.

toppingsIt’s nice to make a little taco bar with all of the ingredients so that others can prepare their tacos as they like. I used a few of my favorite taco toppers including avocados, olives, sour cream, and of course some cheese.

EnjoyThese lettuce tacos are a nice Spring-time meal and a fun alternative to traditional tacos. Enjoy!

~~~

Lettuce Tacos

PRINT RECIPE

________

hannah

(C) 2014 Pocketful of Motherhood

8 thoughts on “Tex-Mex Lettuce Tacos

  1. Mmm, these sound so good! And a great idea for those who may or may not be trying to lose weight… 😉
    Btw, I LOVE your new header!!

Comments are closed.