Glorious Tears

 

tears

One day God will wipe every tear away. What do you think that means?

Someone asked me that question many years ago. It captured my attention and caused me think more in depth about tears than ever before. I knew that the Bible spoke of how there will be an end to our pain one day. Yet I had never imagined what it might look like when God wipes all of our tears away.

10 years later, that question continues to spring up in my mind occasionally. Along this journey I have grown to realize that our tears matter to God because they are an expression of how our hearts feel. And God cares passionately about our hearts.

You keep track of all my sorrows. You have collected all my tears in your bottle. You have recorded each one in your book. ~Psalm 56:8 (NLT)

Tears are often associated with sadness, and the above verse seems to be referring to sorrowful tears. Although there are times when tears are a response to joy, such as on a wedding day or when a child is born. And the Bible says that God catches all of our tears, and one day He will wipe away all of our tears.

Our tears must be valuable if God is keeping track of each one.

Whether our tears are born out of deep sorrow or whether they flow from the delightful moments, God is paying attention to each tear we shed. And He is a God who works all things together for our good. He can intertwine the dark valley’s and the mountain top experiences of our lives, to create goodness.

My feet have trudged through the dark valley’s. I have swam through rivers of tears, only to awaken with puffy eyes the next morning. My heart has throbbed from witnessing the awful injustices in our world. I have wrestled through piercing disappointments and seasons of discouragement. My pillow has been soaked in sorrow because of the things in this life that just don’t make sense. I have felt alone, broken and just plain hurt.

And God has caught each pain-filled tear.

My feet have also been planted on magnificent mountain tops. I have twirled through raindrops of unspeakable joy. My feet have danced in puddles of grace and mercy. I have been soaked in the beauty of discovering that I am a daughter of the One True King. I have felt amazed, awestruck and grateful for blessings that I do not deserve.

And God has caught each joy-filled tear.

Our tears matter to God because He cares for us—His beloved creation. Not a single tear is wasted with Him. He is weaving together our sorrows and smiles to create something beautiful. He turns our dark ashes into glimmering beauty.

One day He will wash away all of our tears. And I imagine that as He does, something glorious will be revealed.  Something radiant will shine brightly. Something breathtaking will glisten. Something refreshing will satisfy our souls. Pain and sorrow will be no more. Darkness will be no more.

A stream of glorious tears will freely flow.

Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.

~1 Corinthians 4:16-18

hannah

(C) 2014 Pocketful of Motherhood

*Above Photo adapted from here

7 thoughts on “Glorious Tears

Comments are closed.