Cinnamon Roll Cake {Revised}

display 3This sweet treat has all the delicious flavors of a cinnamon roll wrapped into a cake. It is one of my favorite baked goods and that is why I’m taking the time to share it again with some better pictures, a slightly adapted recipe and a printable recipe!

9 by 13 This cake is delicious for breakfast or brunch and it also makes a nice after dinner dessert. My favorite way to eat it—for breakfast with a hot cup of coffee.

servedThe original recipe calls for vanilla extract, but I recently discovered (kind of by accident) that it is also tasty with almond extract. I went to make this cake a few weeks ago but I was completely out of vanilla. So I decided to substitute almond extract—and it was delicious (although it was missing something without the vanilla). I decided that a combination of almond and vanilla would be perfect. I adapted the recipe and substituted almond extract for some of the vanilla extract.

cake servedI also changed the glaze slightly by decreasing the amount of powdered sugar and milk that the original recipe calls for.

warmThis cake is best served warm. If you eat it the next day I recommend warming it in the microwave for a few seconds first.

I hope you enjoy this cake as much as my little family and I do!

~~~

Cinnamon Roll Cake

Yield: 18-20 servings

Source: Adapted from Cookin up North

Cake:

3 cups all-purpose flour

¼ teaspoon salt

1 cup sugar

4 teaspoons baking powder

1 ½ cups milk

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon almond extract

½ cup butter, melted

Topping:

1 cup butter, softened {not melted}

1 cup brown sugar

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon cinnamon

Glaze:

1 ½ cups powdered sugar

3 tablespoons milk

½ teaspoon vanilla

~~~

Directions:

1. For the cake, mix together the flour, salt, sugar and baking powder.

2. Add the milk, eggs, vanilla extract and almond extract. Then slowly stir in the melted butter. Pour the batter into a greased 9×13 pan.

3. Make the topping by mixing together the softened butter, brown sugar, flour and cinnamon. Drop evenly over the batter and swirl into the cake with a knife.

4. Bake at 350 degrees for 28-33 minutes.  Remove from the oven and let cool slightly.

5. For the glaze mix together the powdered sugar, milk and vanilla. It should be slightly thick but still runny enough to pour. Pour the glaze over the warm cake. The glaze will harden a little as it sets.

6. Serve warm and enjoy!

[PRINT FRIENDLY RECIPE]

hannah

(C) 2014 Pocketful of Motherhood and Hannah Bollinger

12 thoughts on “Cinnamon Roll Cake {Revised}

  1. This looks so delicious, positively dangerous 😉
    I found you through Family to the 5 Power! I enjoy her posts and saw your blog name there. I love your signature. Was that hard to do? Did you have to learn code—yikes.

    • Hi Kelly! Thanks for coming by! Family to the 5 Power is a great blog and I’m glad you found me that way :). It’s actually pretty easy to make a signature. There are several free online signature makers that you can use to make one.Then you can upload it to your media file and insert it into your posts that way. At least that’s how I do it ;). I can’t remember off the top of my head which one I used but if you do a Google search you will find lots. Hope that helps!

      Many Blessings, Hannah

Comments are closed.