Seeking God Wholeheartedly

seeking God

This verse in Jeremiah has been running through my head a lot lately. What does it mean to seek God with all of our heart? Not a fraction of our heart, not just a piece of our heart, but ALL of our heart.  How do we do that?

God’s greatest commandment is that we love Him.

Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength. ~Mark 12:30 (NIV)

He first loved us and He desires for us to love Him back. Part of how we love Him is by seeking time with Him. He wants to grow a relationship with us, and a key part of any relationship is spending some quality time together.

His second greatest commandment is that we love others.

Love your neighbor as yourself. ~Mark 12:31 (NIV)

Another part of how we love Him is by sharing His Love with other people. I don’t know about you, but anytime I’ve had the opportunity to share the Gospel truth with someone and I see that person “get it” for the first time, something indescribable happens within me. By spreading God’s love, we not only do Kingdom work and impact other lives, but our hearts are changed too—we grow closer to the God who set us free so that we may truly love.

So back to that question, what does it mean to seek God with all of our heart?

It means that we intentionally seek out quality time with Him everyday: We pray, we study His Word, we read devotionals, we read books that encourage us in our faith, and so on. Whether it’s five minutes or fifty minutes—some time is better than no time. For me, seeking some alone time with God isn’t always sitting in my room having a focused quite time. Sometimes it’s enjoying a run on a quiet trail outdoors in the beauty of God’s creation. God’s fingerprints are all over this world for us to soak in.

It means that we surrender all to Him: God wants the real us. He wants us to seek Him when our lives are messy and when our lives are calm. He wants us to seek Him on the days when we feel like it and on the days when we don’t feel like it. He wants to us to bring our pain, our fears, our worries, our hopes, our dreams…to Him. He wants us to surrender every part of our lives to Him so that He can be Lord over our lives.

It means that we spend time pouring into the lives of others: This could be at your job, at a ministry, at church, in your daily comings and goings, at home, by helping a friend or family member (or complete stranger), and so on. God wants us to share His love with others and we can do this anywhere we go. I spend a lot of time pouring into the life of my son right now, and it’s one of the most rewarding things in my life. As I do my best to love my boy, I often see glimpses of God’s love for me through the eyes of my child.

It means that we spend time in community: Going to church, being a part of a Bible study, spending time with family and friends that build us up, and so on. God doesn’t want us to be alone all the time. He wants us to experience the joy that comes from being around the body of Christ—it’s a part of how we grow closer to Him.

It means that we recognize that God is beyond time: Seeking Him is a lifelong journey, not a one time thing. There might be times where we have a quiet time and seek God, but it feels like He’s silent—like we don’t hear Him. The thing we need to realize is that God’s timetable is very different than ours. Rest assured, He’s listening. He hears you and He cares. His timing is perfect and He will reveal things to us when the time is right in His eyes. The verse doesn’t say seek me one time and then you’ll find me. The verse says nothing about time. God wants us to keep seeking Him and never stop. The more we learn how to give our whole heart to Him, the more we will find Him. It’s a process, not an event.

The more we seek God, the more we get to know Him. And the more we know Him, the richer our relationship with Him becomes. We get to fall in love with the Almighty King, who first fell in love with us.

What does it mean to you to seek God with all of your heart? What are some ways you have experienced the richness of seeking Him? I would love to hear!

hannah

(C) 2014 Pocketful of Motherhood

2 thoughts on “Seeking God Wholeheartedly

  1. As always you are so good with words and so good at clarity. To even seek to do this is to love Him. Thank you for helping my day along with this post. I would also add from John 14:15 “If ye love me keep my commandments”. I know God wants us to do our best to follow the guidelines for life He has given us. Willing obedience as a sign of our love for our Savior. More and more society wants to believe in God but follow their own rules. I love Him and I acknowledge that I am but a child … on this earth He created, in a body He made. My life is a gift and my efforts to be obedient are an expression of my gratitude and love. I would encourage us all to repent every day, to seek His forgiveness, and to seek His grace in helping us to do better each day. To be like Him is an impossible but uplifting goal.

    • Thank you Matt, I am grateful for your kindness and I appreciate you sharing your wise insight. You’re right, our obedience is an act of love to our Savior. He values our obedience greatly, even if it means we go against the tide of this world and look different. We should look different if our lives have truly been changed by God’s love. I’m so thankful for support from people like you along this journey of learning and growing!

Comments are closed.