Chocolate Chip Banana Streusel Bread

display bread

Banana bread has always been one of my favorite sweet breads to make. I buy bananas often, especially these days since my they are one of my son’s favorite fruits. They ripen quickly, and when one starts to get overly ripe I stick it in the fridge. Once I have about three or four very ripe bananas, I bake banana bread.

A few years ago I went through a phase where I started adding chocolate chips to a lot of my baked goods like pancakes and sweet breads. Once I tried banana bread with chocolate chips, there was no going back for me. So now I almost always make my banana bread with chocolate chips. I recently added a streusel topping to my go-to chocolate chip banana bread recipe for something a little extra special—and it turned out great!

done~~~~~~

CHOCOLATE CHIP BANANA STREUSEL BREAD

Yield: 2 Loaves

Prep Time: 20 minutes, Bake Time: 1 hour

INGREDIENTS:

Batter:

1 ¼ cups sugar

½ cup (1 stick) butter, softened

2 large eggs (at room temperature)

3-4 medium ripe bananas, mashed

½ cup milk

1 ½ teaspoon vanilla extract

2 ½ cup all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Streusel Topping:

1/3 cup brown sugar, packed

¼ cup all-purpose flour

½ teaspoon cinnamon

2 tablespoons cold butter

½ cup chopped walnuts

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

DIRECTIONS:

1. Heat oven to 350°.

2. Grease 2 loaf pans using cooking spray. 8” or 9” pans will work.

3. Beat the sugar and butter together in a large bowl using a mixer.

4. Add the eggs and beat until well blended.

5. Add the mashed bananas, milk and vanilla extract; beat until smooth.

6. In a medium bowl, use a wooden spoon to stir together the flour, baking soda and salt. Add this dry mixture to the wet mixture and mix just until combined.

7. Fold in the chocolate chips.

8. Pour the batter into the greased pans and set aside.

9. Prepare the streusel topping: In a small bowl mix together the brown sugar, flour and cinnamon. Cut in the butter until the mixture is crumbly. Stir in the walnuts. Sprinkle the mixture evenly over the batter.

10. Bake the bread on the center rack of the oven for 1 hour, checking after 50 minutes. To test the bread, insert a toothpick in the center and make sure it comes out clean.

11. Remove from oven and let the bread cool in the pan for 10 minutes. Then remove the bread from the pan and place it on a cooling rack. Let the bread cool completely before cutting.

12. Wrap tightly and store at room-temperature for up to 4 days or refrigerated for up to 10 days.

[PRINT RECIPE]

sliced

Enjoy!

hannah

(C) 2014 Pocketful of Motherhood and Hannah Bollinger

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Banana Streusel Bread

Comments are closed.