When Loneliness and Love Collide

Make me lonely
So I can be Yours
‘Til I want no one
More than You, Lord
‘Cause in the darkness
I know You will hold me
Make me lonely

‘Til You are my one desire
‘Til You are my one true love
‘Til You are my breath, my everything
Lord, please keep making me

~Lyrics from the song “Keep Making Me” by Sidewalk Prophets

~~~

Make me lonely.

Have you ever desired that? Have you ever cried out those words to God?

I cannot remember a time in my life where my desire was to be lonely, but I can remember times where I have wanted God to take my lonely feelings away.

As a teenager I experienced waves of loneliness. I didn’t like feeling alone. I didn’t like sleeping on a tear-soaked pillow.

As a teenager I also experienced moments of laughter and joy. Good memories and blessings to be grateful for. Yet something felt empty inside of me, and nothing in this world could quench that void I felt.

And then I started to wonder…

Could God be the answer? Was He the one who could transform my broken heart and fill the void in me?

So I started seeking God.

It’s as if my lonely feelings were the very thing leading me to discover the most important relationship that I would experience in my life.

My loneliness collided with the amazing, fulfilling, soul quenching LOVE of God.

And hope…began to shine.

God is love

The more I pursued God, the more I realized that He was already pursuing me. I was not alone. He was with me. He was always with me. I just had not taken the time to acknowledge His presence in my life—until then.

As I opened my heart to His truth, my burdens started to lighten. I began to realize why nothing else had even been able to fill that void in me.

Because nothing else could.

There was a place in me that only He could fill. He created me with a God-shaped-hole, and He created me with it because He desired to fill it.

His love started to fill that empty space in me and my life began to change. My life is still changing.

Make me lonely.

No, I never asked for that. It wasn’t my desire. But God allowed me to feel lonely for a season, because He knew where it would eventually lead me…

Straight into His loving arms.

My teenage years are well behind me and my understanding of God’s love for me continues to flourish. I am in awe that something so beautiful and Holy, could blossom from the most broken places in me.

Nothing is wasted with God.

There are still moments when loneliness creeps into my life. Right now I live and breath motherhood. I love being a mom and I have the most amazing little boy. But not every moment is easy. Sometimes I feel alone in the struggles I face as a parent, and I get discouraged.

When those feelings arise, I can either let them pull me down or I can lay them at the feet of Jesus. When I choose Jesus, He can use those lonely feelings for something good. Maybe it’s to refine me or maybe it’s to remind me how healing it is to simply rest in His love.

“Don’t be afraid, for I am with you.
Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you.
I will hold you up with my victorious right hand.”

~Isaiah 41:10 {NLT}

I am also reminded in the lonely times that this world is not our final home. So if it feels like something is missing, that’s because it is. We were created for something so much better than this world. Jesus conquered death with love, so that we can experience a better world with Him someday.

 “I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.”

~John 16:33 {NLT}

Loneliness is a gloomy road without God, but there is hope when we surrender our loneliness to God and fall into His loving arms. Our deepest needs can be satisfied by His great love.

hannah

(C) 2014 Pocketful of Motherhood

2 thoughts on “When Loneliness and Love Collide

  1. What a beautiful perspective on loneliness, which is often presented in a negative light. Your article made me think of a recent experience I had confronting loneliness. A couple of weeks before Christmas, we lost our beloved dog to cancer. In the days that followed, I struggled with an intense feeling of loneliness, and I even had a moment of anxiety about it. My dog was my companion during the day when I was working at home. The first few days after we lost him, I didn’t want to go home after dropping my son off at school because I didn’t want to be alone. Thankfully, this didn’t last long as I found comfort and peace in God through prayer and drawing nearer to Him. As a I writer, I often spend long periods of time alone, but I’ve found that during these times, I talk to God more and it enriches my relationship with him. So I definitely can see how loneliness, at times, can produce positive results in our faith walks. Thanks for sharing your testimony and for your encouragement. I’m always blessed by your wise insights! :0)

    • Juliet, Thank you very much for your kind words and also for sharing how you can relate. I’m so sorry about your dog, as I know that pets are like family and they make wonderful companions. I’m sure it was even harder with it being so close to Christmas. I’m glad that you were able to find comfort through God during that time. You are right too—loneliness is often presented in a negative way. When I experienced it as a teenager, I didn’t like it at all, but now I can look back and see how God took the very thing that caused me so much pain, and he created something good out of it. He can create good out of anything. He desires good for our lives. Just like Jeremiah 29:11 says, ” For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not harm you…plans to give you a hope and a future.” I’m not sure I believed that verse years ago, but I do now with all my heart. I’ve seen it be true in my life. Thanks as always for your insight and taking the time to share your heart Juliet! I hope you have a blessed week-end!

Comments are closed.