Where is your Trust?

abc04

What would you rather trust in?

Something that is always changing, unpredictable and full of momentary pleasures…

OR

Someone who is always faithful, perfect in love and full of eternal hope.

Easy answer, right? The second choice.

God is always faithful, perfect in love and He alone offers us eternal hope. Doesn’t that sound like good news? Doesn’t that sound like someone worth getting to know?

It does to me.

So why are there still so many people that have a difficult time trusting in God?

Well for one thing, we can’t see God {at least not yet}. It takes faith to believe that God exists.

There’s another thing too—The father of lies. He slithers around looking to prey on his next victim. He hates everything good. He knows the ending to the story. Love wins and evil dies. His motive is to destroy lives, to create divisions and to pollute our minds with anything but truth.

This father of lies, he’s in this world too. No we can’t see him either, but he wants to keep us as far away from God as possible. He’s sneaky and manipulative. He disguises things to make them look appealing, knowing that those things will actually only bring pain. He wants us to choose the things of this world that can bring momentary happiness, rather than clinging to a God who has something SO much better in store for us.

I’ve chosen momentary pleasures in my life. I’ve had my “happy” moments. And I’m not here to tell you that there is anything wrong with being happy.

But happiness has an end. It’s based on happenings. When things are going good, you’re happy…but when things are going bad, those happy feelings fade.

God offers us something different. He offers JOY. Everlasting joy. He wants our lives to be filled with joy. When things are going good we can have joy…and when things are going bad, we can have joy too.

Things in this world are always changing, but God doesn’t change. His promises don’t change. So the joy that He offers can remain constant in our lives, even when our circumstances are changing. Joy doesn’t always mean a smile on our face. Sometimes joy is just knowing that there is hope in God.

When the tides are raging, when heartache hits, when the gloomy seasons seem to last forever…we can still have joy. We can have joy because of the hope and promise of better things. We can have joy because we know that one day God will wipe every tear away. We can have joy because God’s promises are true and one day He will set things right. We can have joy because through His Son, Jesus Christ, we can live in paradise with Him one day…FOREVER.

You see, the enemy is weak. The only chance he really has, is the power we give to him. He wants to hide the message of real hope that is found through trusting in God. The enemy wants us to look to this world for fulfillment, so that we are distracted away from hearing the “good news” and experiencing the freedom that news offers. For those of us who already have the good news in our hearts, he wants to keep us from sharing the truth with others.

Don’t let the enemy win that battle. Don’t be afraid to speak up and share the truth with a world that so desperately needs to the hear a message of hope.

All the good things I have in my life now, I have because God has graciously given them to me. I can enjoy life because of the Life-Giver. His plans for me are good, and His plans for you are good too. Putting my trust in Him is the best decision I ever made.

That doesn’t mean my life has always been easy. I have walked through seasons of deep sorrow and pain, but I’ve never traveled alone. God has always been with me. He reminds me of the hope of better things to come. I have have a joy in my heart from Him, that no circumstance {good or bad} can steal away from me. Only HE can offer that kind of joy. Only HE can offer a peace that passes all understanding. Only HE can offer true freedom and the gift of Eternal Life.

So I ask you again.

What would you rather trust in?

Something that is always changing, unpredictable and full of momentary pleasures…

OR

Someone who is always faithful, perfect in love and full of eternal hope.

Where is your trust? Are you struggling to keep your head above water in an unstable world, or are your feet firmly planted on the rock of God?

~

But blessed are those who trust in the Lord and have made the Lord their hope and confidence. [Jeremiah 17:17, NLT]

~

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. [John 14:27, NIV]

~

Guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long.  [Psalm 25:5]

hannah

(C) 2013 Pocketful of Motherhood

*photo credit

2 thoughts on “Where is your Trust?

Comments are closed.