Let me know the struggle ends

This song called “Worn” by Tenth Avenue North has always struck a cord with me. When I was driving in my car the other day with my 2 year old in the backseat, I heard the story behind why this song was written. One of the band members had a newborn and toddler at home, and one day his wife expressed to him that she was worn out— Worn out from juggling all the demands of being a mom. Thus, the inspiration behind the song.

As I heard that I thought to myself, “No wonder I can relate so much to this song.” I’m a mom to a toddler and I just get worn out sometimes. Not just from being a mom, but from life in general.

I love being a mom and I adore my son. I talk about it all the time here on this blog. That doesn’t mean my days are free from struggle though.

I’ve had one of those weeks where I just feel worn out. One of those weeks where I just keep crying out, “Let me know the struggle ends.” When I came to know the Lord as a teenager, I automatically was drawn to the book of Psalms because it’s full of heartfelt honest feelings from David. David shouts for joy and sings praises to God, and he also cries out to the Lord about his hardships.

I’ve learned over the years that it’s okay to cry out the God with my honest heart. It’s okay if all I can say is, “Let me know the struggle ends.”  The struggle is a part of the story {as I’ve heard it said} and God wants us to let Him be our Hope, especially during the moments of struggle.

I love the Lord my God with all my heart and I know in Him there is true hope and freedom. I know that He can lead me to green pastures and that His plans for me are good.

I also know that sometimes it’s okay to just cry out to Him. To lift my eyes up and say…

Let me know the struggle ends.

From the ends of the earth I call to you, I call as my heart grows faint; lead me to the rock that is higher than I. ~Psalm 61:2

In my distress I called to the LORD; I cried to my God for help. From his temple he heard my voice; my cry came before him, into his ears. ~Psalm 18:6

Many Blessings,

sign no border

2 thoughts on “Let me know the struggle ends

  1. Thank you so much, Hannah. Your transparent words are Spirit-filled and point to the One who give us strength when we are weak! Pray you get rest and find Him your strength this weekend 🙂

Comments are closed.