Cheesy Zucchini Rice Bake

Baked Display

As the weather gradually cools down in the Fall, I enjoy turning on the oven a little more and cooking warm comforting meals. A few weeks ago, my fridge was looking fairly vacant because we recently moved into a new home and I had to yet to make a real visit to the grocery store. So, I gathered what we had on hand to create what turned out to be a tasty, vegetarian dish. Not that we are vegetarians in my family, but that’s just how the dish turned out. Even my husband who likes his meat, enjoyed this meatless dish—He even said I should write it down {translation in my head = future blog post!}. So here it is…

veggies ingThere are lots of fresh veggies and nutritious ingredients in this dish {always a bonus}. By the way…did you know that beans and rice pair together to make a complete protein? They do! So even though this dish is meatless, you’ll still get a dose of protein.

mixed ingA little preparation, and this dish comes together in no time.

2 dishes doneThis recipe makes a generous portion of food, so here’s a convenient tip: Divide the mixture into two casserole dishes and freeze one for a convenient future meal. You will appreciate it later! It’s one of those tips that I find especially helpful since becoming a mommy.

finishedThe casserole bakes in a preheated 350 degree oven {covered in foil} for about 1 hour. The foil gets removed, a little additional cheese gets sprinkled on top and it bakes for an additional 10-15 minutes.

Done!

Micah Helping 2

My little chef even joined in the fun of preparing this dish with me by putting the zucchini in a bowl after I chopped it up {so cute, I’m glad I got a picture}.

I hope you enjoy this dish as much as my family did!

~~~

Cheesy Zucchini Rice Bake

Yield: 6-8 servings

Ingredients:

2-3 medium size zucchini’s, cubed

1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved

½ cup fresh or frozen corn

1 medium onion, chopped

1, 15oz.can black beans

3 cups cooked rice

1, 15oz.can chicken broth

1 cup monetary jack cheese

1 cup cheddar cheese

1 tablespoon honey

3-4 dashes of hot pepper sauce

½ tsp. garlic powder

Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. In a large bowl mix together the zucchini, tomatoes, corn, onions and black beans. Add the cooked rice and stir until incorporated.

2. Add the chicken broth, cheeses, honey, hot pepper sauce, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Stir together.

3. Pour the mixture into a large greased casserole dish and cover with foil. You can also divide it into 2 casserole dishes and freeze one for later use.

4. Bake at 350° for about 1 hour. Remove the foil, sprinkle with a little extra cheese and bake for an additional 10-15 minutes. The casserole should be bubbly.

5. Remove from the oven. Let cool for about 5 minutes before serving.Enjoy!

{PRINT RECIPE}

~~~

Many Blessings,

sign no border

2 thoughts on “Cheesy Zucchini Rice Bake

Comments are closed.