Precious Jewels

with mom wordsThis picture is of me holding my son when he was just a few days old. Being a mom, still felt surreal at that point. Prior to becoming a mom, I spent many years taking care of children through child-care and teaching jobs. I grew attached to many of the kids that I worked with over the years; Kids have a special way of filling our hearts. While there are many kids in the past who have touched my life greatly, no one has touched my heart like my very own son.

I carried my son in my belly for over 9 months, I endured the pain of labor and then the wonder of holding my little miracle for the first time, I experienced the joy of seeing him smile for the first time, the beauty of hearing him say his first word, the excitement of seeing him take his first step…

I prayed for this little boy for so many years before he ever was mine. God gave me the desires of my heart, and it still feels surreal some days. I love him more than I can put into words and I would do anything in the world for him.

As I reflect on how I cherish my son, I am reminded of the way God loves us. After all, we are HIS children. If an imperfect soul such as myself can love a little child as much as I do, then how much more does our Heavenly Father love us? It should excite us that the God of this universe chooses to call us Sons and Daughters and that His love for us is flawlessly perfect.

What makes me heartbroken is that much of our world has a very distorted view of God. Rather than seeing Him as a loving God, they see Him as someone who is out to get. Rather than seeing Him as a merciful God, they see Him as a judge who is keeping a running record of every sin.

There was a time in my life where I too saw God through a skewed pair of lens; In fact, I was kind of afraid of Him. Yet, there was something inside of me that was so drawn to Him. As I wrestled through my feelings, I decided to open up my Bible and read through the book of Psalm. I wanted to keep reading more and more because something about that particular book of the Bible was so comforting to me—Comforting enough to change my perspective about God

I was so intrigued to read the heartfelt cries and praises of David. He was real about his struggles, yet he had this unspeakable joy and talked so much about God’s goodness. As I began to realize that God loved David, and could handle both his cries for mercy and his songs of praise…

I began to discover that God loved me in very the same way.

“Praise be to the Lord, for he showed his wonderful love to me” (Psalm 31:21 NIV)

God loves us, adores us and desires good for our lives. We are His beloved children whom He cares for dearly, just like I care so passionately for my own child. He values us more than anything in this world. After all, He sacrificed His one and only Son on the cross for you and I. Jesus died the death that we fully deserved and nothing in all of creation can separate us from the Father’s love.

We are His children, His most precious jewels.

So as I spend time with my precious little jewel, as my love for him grows more everyday, as I soak up the beauty of being a mom—I get a glimpse of our Heavenly Father’s adoring love for you and I.

We are valuable jewels in the eyes of the King.

“See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are!” (1 John 3:3 NIV)

hannah

(C) 2013 Pocketful of Motherhood

6 thoughts on “Precious Jewels

  1. Love this post! Indeed, along with my salvation through Christ, my children are the most precious gift God has ever given me and my husband! We are truly blessed! And even more so because of God’s immense love for His children. Thanks for sharing this special moment of yours with us! 🙂

Comments are closed.