The Truth About The Grace-Giver

amazing grace blog

The other evening I was out for a run, listening to music and admiring the beautiful sky that looked just like a magnificent painting. Then the song Amazing Grace came on.

This song always reminds me of my wedding day. While it is not a traditional song to use for a first-dance, that is exactly what my Husband and I chose to do at our wedding reception. Grace is the very thing that brought us together so we couldn’t think of more appropriate song.

Grace has been a meaningful word in my life for many years. It seems to be the theme of the story God is writing for my life. Perhaps there is a reason why my name means “Grace.”

Well, back to my run…I was enjoying my time away outside and taking in the lyrics of the song. I couldn’t help but feel overwhelmed with gratitude for the mighty hand of God in my life. There are so many things that I have in my life today that just don’t make sense…things I shouldn’t have, but I do because of God’s Grace.

Some might say that I shouldn’t be where I am today because some of my past childhood experiences.

Some might say that two broken souls {meaning my Husband and I} couldn’t possibly experience joy in marriage.

Some did say that the reality of children was a slim possibility for my Husband and I.

Sound a little discouraging?

It is, and there is a father of lies who wants to do just that—discourage us. He comes to steal, destroy, deceive and manipulate. Remember the serpent’s conversation with Eve in the Garden of Eden? He sugar-coats the lies so that we will believe them and his main motive is to harm us. While there was a time in my life when I bought into the lies, I eventually chose to listen to someone different.

Someone who transformed the ashes from my childhood, into beauty.

Someone who brought two broken lives together, and created a sacred marriage.

Someone who made what seemed like the impossible, possible when a little life was created—A living and breathing precious little boy today.

My accomplishments, my successes, my marriage to an amazing man, my miracle son—these are the reflections of Grace in my life. They are a gift given to me by the Grace-Giver: God.

The truth about Him…

He is full of unending compassion. His tender mercies are new everyday. He is for us, not against us. He is strong, yet gentle. He is the source of all wisdom. He is the one true King. He is our Redeemer and Friend. He is our Protector and Defender. He is faithful to every promise. He is above all things, before all things, and He moves in mighty ways. His unfailing Love for you and I is so great that He allowed His one and only Son to die on a Cross for the sins of this world. He offers us what we don’t deserve—Amazing Grace.

The enemy wants to distract us away from this Truth, but he only has as much power as we give him. Truth is, he is weak. The enemy wants to harm us, God wants to bring good to our lives. The enemy intends to destroy us, God desires to rebuild our lives. The enemy comes to steal, God powerfully reclaims the victory. The enemy tries to keep us in bondage, God wants to set us free. The enemy brings death, God offers eternal life which is His gift of Grace to us.

“You then, my child, be strengthened by the grace that is in Christ Jesus.” ~2 Timothy 2:1

The truth about the Grace-Giver is that His love for us never fails and He desires good for our lives. Believe me, there was a time when I wrestled to believe that God wanted good things for me. Eventually, the truth became clear as day to me and God trampled on the enemy’s lies. He can do infinitely more in our lives than we may ever dream possible. He is the source of hope and the reason for every good thing in my life.

~~~

Amazing grace! How sweet the sound
That saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost, but now am found,
Was blind, but now I see.

‘Twas grace that taught my heart to fear, 
And grace my fears relieved. 
How precious did that grace appear 
The hour I first believed.

Through many dangers, toils and snares 
I have already come; 
‘Tis grace hath brought me safe thus far 
And grace will lead me home.

The Lord has promised good to me 
His word my hope secures; 
He will my shield and portion be, 
As long as life endures.

Yea, when this flesh and heart shall fail, 
and mortal life shall cease, 
I shall possess within the veil, 
A life of joy and peace.

When we’ve been there ten thousand years 
Bright shining as the sun, 
We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise 
Than when we’ve first begun.

-Lyrics by John Newton, 1725-1807

~~~

hannah

(C) 2013 Pocketful of Motherhood

 

6 thoughts on “The Truth About The Grace-Giver

Comments are closed.