The Light Outshines the darkness

KYsJPW1366725875Sometimes I just need to pause. To be still and thank God for blessings in my life—a loving husband, a precious son, wonderful family, awesome friends, the ability to be a stay-at-home mom…the list could go on and on. The thing is, my life is not perfect.  I’m just an ordinary person and I have some hard days. Days when the darkness seems so dark, and days when my heart just hurts to see how much brokenness there is in our world.

Yet even in the darkest of moments, there is a light that keeps on shining. Jesus is the light of this world, and His light outshines the darkness. Our circumstances in life are always changing, but God always remains the same.  His promises are true and no amount of darkness can change them. That alone is something to be forever grateful for.

I don’t know what tomorrow might bring, but I don’t want to take for granted the blessings I have right before my eyes. God has given me so much more than I deserve. In the smile-filled moments and through the difficult seasons, I just need pause and tell Him thank you for lighting the way no matter what road I’m on. The darkness may try to steal my joy, but nothing can take away the joy I have in the Lord. Nothing. His light will keep on shining and He will lead us through the darkness. 

“You, Lord, are my lamp; the Lord turns my darkness into light.” 2 Samuel 22:29 (NIV)

hannah  

 (C) 2013 Pocketful of Motherhood

photo credit: http://mrg.bz/YsKKqy

4 thoughts on “The Light Outshines the darkness

  1. Thank you so much for your encouragement! Yes, Light always wins 🙂 What hope we have in Christ! Thank you for doing your part of shining His Light into this world 🙂 Keep going!

Comments are closed.