Motherhood Matters

motherhood takes

The other day when my son and I were at the store in the check-out line, the cashier said “Hi” to my son. My son paused for a minute to think about how to respond to her and then with great enthusiasm he pointed to me and loudly proclaimed, “MOMMY!” He wanted to make sure that she knew that I was his mommy. The cashier smiled, so did I and in my heart I was reminded that I matter so much to my little one.

Those are the moments that encourage me, because I realize that my role as a mom is incredibly valuable. As a stay-at-home mom, there are days when I feel like what I’m doing doesn’t matter that much. Sound familiar? Yet deep down, I know that’s not true because motherhood matters greatly.

A mom can offer something to her kids that only she can. 

In the {almost} 2 years that I’ve been a mom, I’ve experienced the many joys of motherhood and also the many challenges.  My faith continues to grow as I depend on God to help me through every step of this journey. It’s comforting to know that I have a Heavenly Father who is always with me, and that he equips me with all that I need to be the best mom that I can be.

Just like the above quote states, motherhood certainly does take a lot of wisdom, strength, patience, faith, insight and courage. I’m not perfect in any of those areas, but God is. As I draw near to God, he helps me as a parent…

to make wise decisions about what’s best for my son,

to find both the physical and inward strength to make it through certain situations,

to have patience when dealing with things like tantrums,

to have faith that things will work out,

to gain insight about how to best guide my son down the right path,

and to find the courage to press on through the hard moments.

Motherhood takes a lot, and it matters a lot. It might feel like your efforts to care for your children go unnoticed sometimes—but they don’t. When you spend your days picking up crumbs off the floor, changing diapers and doing laundry, remember that God sees and values your work. God knows that we mamas do these things, day in and day out, because we care for our families. That matters greatly to Him.

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving. ~Colossians 3:23-24

When I remind myself that I am daughter of God and that my focus should be on living for Him, rather than on trying to please others—My role as a mom seems all the more significant. Through the good days and the bad days, our value as mamas doesn’t change. Motherhood matters, and it matters greatly.

hannah

(C) 2013 Pocketful of Motherhood

9 thoughts on “Motherhood Matters

  1. Thank you so much for this wonderful blog post! I love it so much. I had a very stressful mom day today and as usual, efforts of trying to be a good mom are unnoticed. But after reading your blog, it felt like all the negative feelings just went away and I felt lighter. It’s good to know that someone knows what you are going through, that you are being understood, and is being appreciated. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. 🙂

    • Hi Janet, Oh you brought tears to my eyes. Thank you for your beautiful words and your honest heart. I’m SO sorry that you had a stressful day and I can totally relate to that. I’m so glad that you were encouraged by this post. What a blessing it is for me to hear that! That’s exactly why I write posts like this…to hopefully encourage other moms! Just remember that you are not alone and that God does value your efforts as a mom. Thanks so much for stopping by! Many Blessings, Hannah

  2. Pingback: What It Takes To Be A Mother

  3. Patenting is definitely not for the weak of heart. I have four little ones. I seek God for wisdom as I raise them! I can totally relate to your blog! Blessings, Crystal

    • Hi Crystal, So glad you found my blog and thank you for taking the time to look around!!! What a blessing to have you as a reader. It’s so nice to be able to relate to other mom’s. I will check out your blog too! Many Blessings, Hannah

Comments are closed.