A Powerful Love

powerful

For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord. ~Romans 8:38-39

Through the changing seasons of life, God’s love remains unchanged.

Whether I’m in the dark valleys or standing on top of the breath-taking mountains, I find comfort in knowing that God’s love is always near.

In the valleys:

This is the place I first discovered the depth of God’s love for me. It seems backwards that someone would discover love in the midst of pain, but that is exactly what I experienced during my teenage years.

I was going through the motions of life and I had many enjoyable moments, but I was also hurting on the inside. The brokenness from my past had left me feeling a lot like a lost sheep. I wanted to escape the valley of my broken heart, but I had no clue how to do that.

I began to realize that I needed a Shepherd to guide me out of the valley and even more so, I needed a Savior. His name— Jesus.

“The Lord is my Shepherd…Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me…” ~Psalm 23: 4

So right there in the middle of my mess and with tear-filled eyes, I invited the Lord to into my life. He welcomed me with a warm embrace and a powerful, healing love.

That time in my life seems like so far ago, and yet sometimes it feels like just yesterday.

There are still trials and testings that arise in my life: There are times of discouragement, times where I don’t understand God’s will for my life and times of weariness like when I first became a mom and I was so exhausted from the never-ending sleepless nights.

Yet through the hardships, God continues to refine me. I grow stronger in my faith and become more confident in his unfailing love. Even the most difficult times, can’t separate me from the mighty love of God.

On the mountain tops:

It’s refreshing to finally reach higher ground after being in the dark, cold valleys of life. These are the moments where I stand in awe of God’s faithfulness; I try to cherish these more joyful times while they last.

I remember how wonderful it felt when I graduated from college in 2006 with a teaching degree, after 6 long years of hard work.

I remember the beauty of my wedding day— I am blessed today to have a wonderful Husband who cherishes me greatly.

And I will never forget the birth of our miracle son, probably the most glorious mountain I have stood on top of so far.

These mountain-top moments are amazing glimpses of God’s great love.

So whether I find myself in the valleys, on the mountain tops or somewhere in between (more often than not)—I am learning to trust that God’s love for me remains the same.

His love is constant, it offers peace,  it has the power to demolish strongholds, it doesn’t fail, it casts out fear and it can heal our deepest wounds. It has the amazing power to set us free and it is the very thing that set me free.

hannah

(C) 2013 Pocketful of Motherhood

4 thoughts on “A Powerful Love

  1. So very encouraging and exactly what I needed to hear today! THANK YOU for posting! 🙂 Your entire blog is so encouraging to “all of us mommies out here.” Thank you!

  2. Beautiful thoughts & words, dear one… I love the way you think & write! Yes, I also have been in deep valleys and on mountain tops. What a joy that we share your wedding day as an amazing blessing for ALL of us..

Comments are closed.