Act Justly, Love Mercy, Walk Humbly

wiuRlQ1362547123

He has showed you, O man, what is good. And what does the Lord require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.     ~Micah 6:8

This is probably one of the most referenced verses from the book of Micah and it gives a practical explanation of how God desires for us to live. I found a creative illustration of this verse a few months ago on Pinterest and I decided it would be a fun project to do with my son and also a great keepsake!

SUPPLIES FOR THE PROJECT:

KpOqyy1362547324

Poster-board {cut down to 11×14}

Paint Pens {I used white and silver}

Gold Acrylic Paint

A Foam Brush

A Willing Child

Rx9wrG1362547554

STEP ONE: GOLD PAINT

 I painted my son’s hands gold and then gently pressed one hand at a time onto the poster-board to make the handprints. This sounds simple, but keep in mind that my son was about 16 months old at the time and he was more interested in squishing the paint around in his hands than in making handprints ;). So after a lot of patience and several tries, we got it done! Then we moved onto the footprints. By the way, it helps to have some wet-ones or a damp washcloth around for clean-up—my little one escaped a few times and decorated our home in gold! Lastly, I painted the gold heart with a regular paint brush.

uKhU3V1362547758

STEP TWO: PAINT PEN WORDS

After the gold paint dried, I used the paint pens to write on the words. I used the thicker white pen for ACT, LOVE, WALK and I used the thinner silver pen for justly, mercyhumbly.

vpXXop1362547964

STEP THREE: THE TITLE

I put Micah 6:8 on a little bit of  scrapbook paper and added it to the top of the picture. You could do this a million different ways so it’s just personal preference.

wiuRlQ1362547123

STEP FOUR: FRAMING

I put the picture in a 11×14 frame and then I found a perfect little home for it to be displayed in my son’s room.

~~~

Since discovering this idea I have been thinking about making some other kid-friendly Bible verse illustrations. Perhaps another post for another time!

hannah

(C) 2013 Pocketful of Motherhood

6 thoughts on “Act Justly, Love Mercy, Walk Humbly

  1. I love love love this idea! What a beautiful piece of “handprint” artwork and I love the words as well! I see a Spring Break project for me and my kiddos! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Hi Hannah! Thanks for stopping by my Serendipity Diaries… I think by looking at your blog you’d enjoy my Wren In The Willow much better… that is all about encouragement for moms with a Christian attitude… stuff from just daily life

Comments are closed.