DIY Canvas Photo: Under $10

I love to display pictures around the home and I recently discovered how easy and inexpensive it is to create your own canvas photos thanks to Pinterest! I spent a little time looking at some of the different methods other’s have used and I decided to go the “mod-podge” way. Here’s how I did it:

materials I started with a blank 16×20 canvas, a 16×20 photo that I developed for $5.99 at my local Costco, black acrylic paint, matte mod-podge and some foam brushes.

black paintI used black paint to cover the edges and about an inch around the front of the canvas.

mod pod frontThen I covered the canvas with a layer of mod-podge, placed the photo on top and pressed it down with a clean cloth to get rid of the bubbles. Once the picture was in place, I used a foam brush to cover the photo with both a horizontal layer and a vertical layer of mod podge….and don’t worry because it will look white at first but I promise it will dry clear!

resultSee 😉 it dries clear and the mod-podge just gives it that canvas look. Just let it dry and that’s all there to it!

final displayThe best part was getting to display this handmade canvas in my home! It’s always a little more special to have a part in creating something and it’s certainly a whole lot cheaper than having one made professionally.

right view

By the way…

The picture cost $5.99.

The canvas cost $3.00.

 I already had the other supplies.

my total cost = $9.00!!!

~~~

Have fun creating!

hannah

(C) 2013 Pocketful of Motherhood

2 thoughts on “DIY Canvas Photo: Under $10

Comments are closed.