Candy Cane Sugar Scrub

candy cane scrub 025

My mommy-hands can definitely use a little pampering from time to time, especially in the upcoming cold winter months. I’ve found that sugar scrubs are a great way to fight off unwanted dryness and the best part is that they are so simple to make! In light of the Holidays, I found a great recipe for a Candy Cane Sugar Scrub here that smells great and will leave your hands feeling wonderfully soft. It makes a great gift too!!!

To make the scrub you need:

2 Cups of  Granulated Sugar

1/3 Cup of Light Olive Oil

1/4 Cup of Coconut Oil (melted)

1/2 Teaspoon of Peppermint Extract

Red Food Coloring

candy cane scrub ingredients

Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl expect for the food coloring. You can adjust the ingredients a little until you get consistency you’re looking for.

candy cane scrub 003

 Take about half of the mixture and place it in another bowl so you can make some red sugar. Add the red food coloring a drop at a time until you reach the desired color.

candy cane scrub 007

The last step is to package the scrub.  I used a 16 oz. mason jar and I had a little left over to use on my hands. 🙂

candy cane scrub 024

A few simple steps and you’ll have a festive treat that’s great for Holiday gift-giving this year!

hannah

(C) 2012 Pocketful of Motherhoood

10 thoughts on “Candy Cane Sugar Scrub

  1. I’m gonna have to try something like this for teacher gifts at the end of this year! I love this idea!!!

    • Yes you can. This scrub is best if used within the first 3 months of making it. It will last longer than that but the sugars start to absorb the oil over time so it may start to get dry. You can add a little extra oil to give it a longer shelf life. Good luck!

    • You could use brown sugar but you wouldn’t get the white/red candy cane color, at least not the white part. I have a brown sugar scrub recipe on my sugar scrubs page that you might like. 🙂

Comments are closed.