Holiday Fabric Wreath

I was inspired to make my own wreath this year after seeing one made of fabric on etsy.  What a creative idea! It cost me about $7.00 and a few hours of my time to make this wreath.

first the supplies…

wreath supplies

I only needed a few items:

10″ Styrofoam Wreath

Holiday Fabric (1/4 yard of each fabric)

Scissors

Fabric Mod Podge

Foam Brush

then a little mod podge and cutting…

fabric strips

First I used a foam brush to cover the back of the fabric with a thin layer of Mod Podge. This will prevent the fabric from fraying at the edges and will also make it a little stiffer so the fabric will hold up better on the wreath. Once dry, I cut the fabric into strips. I made my strips about 13″ long x 1″ wide.

finally a little tying…

Finished WreathI tied a ribbon in the middle of the Styrofoam wreath for hanging purposes and then I started tying on the fabric. I used a criss-cross type pattern so the the fabric would fill-out the wreath evenly.  I used about 70 fabric  strips total.

Project Complete!!!

side view outside

Front View Outside 2

The final result:  A festive wreath that is sure to brighten up any home this Holiday Season!!!

Note:  Since this wreath is made of fabric it may not do well in an area that is exposed to harsh weather conditions.  If you have a covered patio that is mostly protected from the snow then it will probably do fine.  Otherwise, it makes a great indoor decoration. 

hannah

(C) 2012 Pocketful of Motherhood

