Plastic Containers “Jazzed-Up”

When I was a preschool teacher I had a large collection of baskets because they helped me organize stuff around the classroom. Well now that I’m a mom, I have a rather  large collection of empty plastic containers! My son LOVES to play with empty containers, sometimes even more than with his regular toys!!!  I’m glad they keep him occupied but I also have an overflowing supply of them…I wanted to find another way to use them rather than just throwing them away.  Since my son is just now developing a little interest in art, I thought I could re-purpose some of these containers for storing art supplies like crayons, stickers, markers, etc.  I also figured that I could use some of the containers that fit easily into a diaper bag, to fill with little toys (or other items) that can occupy my little one while on-the-go!  I’m all about making things look a little cuter by adding a “creative touch!”  So I decided to take on the task of “jazzing up” a few containers and then re-using them for storing my kiddo’s stuff!

First, you’ll need to gather some supplies:

an assortment of kid-themed fabric,

Fabric Mod Podge,

a foam brush,

spray adhesive (or fabric glue if you prefer)

 empty plastic containers (remove all labels)

Then, use a foam brush to cover the fabric with Mod Podge. Allow the fabric to dry completely (I waited a few hours). You only need a rough cut of fabric for this step because once the Mod Podge dries, the fabric will become stiff and easy to cut so that it won’t fray at the edges.

 Once the fabric is dry you will need to cut it to the correct size to fit the container (being the perfectionist that I am, this part took a little trial-and-error for me). A ruler and a pair of good scissors will help. Then flip the fabric over (to the non-mod podge side) and spray it with adhesive. As the wise lady in Hobby Lobby told me, do the part outside because it stinks…and she was right!

Then cover the container with the fabric and you’re done! Note: this example is done with a “Gerber Puffs” container (because I have SO many), but it is a little challenging to get the fabric on perfectly because the middle is “caved in.” It’s possible but it takes a little more work. I found that containers likes coffee cans which are even all around work a little better.

Now I have some cute containers that I can use for organizing my son’s art supplies, storing stuff in the diaper bag, or whatever else I think of!!!

©Pocketful of Motherhood, 2012

