Fun Kool-Aid Eggs

display blog

I had so much fun dying Easter eggs with my son yesterday and we didn’t use one of those egg dye kits—We used Kool-Aid. I’m personally not a fan of the sugary Kool-Aid drink, but the colorful 20¢ packets do come in handy for other things like making Kool-Aid play dough and in this case, for dying Easter eggs. Thank you to who ever discovered this clever idea which I have seen pinned all over Pinterest!

ing blog

I started off with a dozen hard-boiled eggs and 4 Kool-Aid packets.

colors blog

I mixed each packet of Kool-Aid with 2/3 cup of water.  I used cherry, lemon-lime, mixed berry and orange.

eggs dying blog

Then I added an egg at a time to each Kool-Aid mixture and let the eggs sit and soak up the color. I stirred them around with a spoon every once in a while to give them an even coating.  My son loved helping me with this part. He’s really excited about colors right now and he had so much fun naming all the different colors. I’m very proud of him for making so many leaps in his development right now!

I let the eggs sit in the Kool-Aid mixture for about 5-7 minutes total. The longer you leave them in, the darker they get. I left the blue eggs in a little too long and some of the color started to come off. Just a warning—don’t leave them in too long!

eggs drying blog

Then I transferred them to a drying rack. They come out a little speckled, which I think is a fun effect.

finished eggs

These eggs are fun to make with little ones, inexpensive and they also smell great! Have fun!!

Many Blessings,

sign no border

4 thoughts on “Fun Kool-Aid Eggs

  1. What a great idea! Thanks so much for sharing. I can’t wait to try this out when my little guy and I dye eggs later this week. :0)

Share your thoughts!

